Find our new content and programs at www.generationnation.org

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Learning about candidates


 

Getting ready to vote in Election 2011?

First, you need to learn about the candidates who are running for office. Here are some great places to start reading candidate profiles, checking out their positions and websites, and watching videos. We will continue to post links here through Election 2011 - check back to see the updates!

Overall

List of candidates
Teaching about the election?
  
SCHOOL BOARD

MeckEd candidate profiles
CMS candidate profiles
Kids Voting/WTVI/League of Women Voters video interviews 
Charlotte Observer profiles in grid form
UNC-TV Candidate Profiles
Larry Bumgarner http://www.deconsolidate.com/
Elyse Dashew http://dashewforschoolboard.com/
Ericka Ellis-Stewart http://www.ericka4cmsboard.com/
Keith Hurley http://keithhurley.com/
Mary McCray http://www.marymccrayforschoolboard.webs.com/
DeShauna McLamb (no website)
Tim Morgan http://www.morganforschoolboard.net/
Ken Nelson http://www.kenwnelson.com/
Hans Plotseneder http://www.drplots.com/
Aaron Pomis http://www.aaronpomis.com/
Darrin Rankin http://www.rankinforcms.com/
Lloyd Scher http://www.lloydscher.com/
Jeff Wise  http://www.votejeffwise.com/

MAYOR

Charlotte
WTVI videos/debate (coming soon)
Charlotte Observer candidate profiles (coming soon)
UNC-TV Candidate Profiles
Anthony Foxx (D) www.anthonyfoxx.com
Scott Stone (R) www.electscottstone.com

Cornelius
Jeff Tarte running unopposed
Cornelius.net Election 2011 news
UNC-TV Voter Guide

Davidson
Huntersville Herald questions
Davidson.net Election 2011 news
UNC-TV Voter Guide
Vince Winegardner voteforvince.org/
John Woods http://www.mayorjohnwoods.com

Huntersville
UNC-TV Voter Guide
Lake Norman Citizen profiles
Lake Norman Citizen Tilley info (toward end of story )
Huntersville Herald (coming soon)
Beth (Danae) Caulfield www.caulfieldformayor.com
Jill Swain www.jillswain.com

Matthews
UNC-TV Voter Guide
Matthews-Mint Hill Weekly profile

Jim Taylor (unopposed) www.mayorjimtaylor.com/

Mint Hill
UNC-TV Voter Guide
Matthews-Mint Hill Weekly profile 
Ted Biggers minthillmayor.com/
Jean Bonner (no website)


Pineville
George Fowler (unopposed) http://ncvoterguide.org/pineville/mayor_fowler.php


CITY AND TOWN COUNCIL
Charlotte - At-Large

ncvoterguide.org/charlotte/

Patrick Cannon http://www.patrickdcannon.com/page.php?7
Claire Fallon
David Howard http://votedavidhoward.com/
Beth Pickering  http://www.voteforbethpickering.com/
Christopher Hailey http://home.votehailey.com/
Mohamed Moustafa http://www.votemohamedmoustafa.com/
Edwin Peacock http://www.edwinpeacock.com/
Curtis Watkins http://www.curtis-watkins.com/
Alexander Vuchnich http://vuchnichforcitycouncil.org/

District Map

District 1
Patsy Kinsey (D)

District 2
James Mitchell (D)

District 3
LaWana Mayfield (D) www.lawanamayfield.com
Ed Toney (R)

District 4
Michael Barnes (D) http://www.barnesdistrict4.com/
Larry Shannon (R)


District 5
John Autry (D) http://www.johnautry.com/
Dennis Peterson (R) http://electdennispeterson.com/

District 6
Andy Dulin http://www.voteandydulin.com/

District 7
Warren Cooksey http://www.warrencooksey.com/


Cornelius Board of Commissioners
http://ncvoterguide.org/cornelius
John Bradford III
Dave Gilroy
Jeff Hare
Lynette Rinker
Thurman Ross
Chuck Travis

Davidson
http://ncvoterguide.org/davidson/
Kristen Coupal
Jim Fuller
Rodney Graham
Brian Jenest
Mickey Pettus
Laurie Venzon
Connie Wessner

Huntersville
/http://ncvoterguide.org/huntersville/
Melinda Bales
Adam Boatsman
Charles Guignard
Charles Jeter
Ron Julian
Sarah McAulay
Dempsey Miller
Jeff Neely
Danny Phillips
Adam Planty
Brian Sisson

Matthews
http://ncvoterguide.org/matthews/
Paul Bailey
Suzanne Gulley
Jeff Miller
Nancy LaFond Moore
Joe Pata
Kress Query
John Urban

Mint Hill
http://ncvoterguide.org/minthill/
Lloyd D. Austin
Carl (Mickey) Ellington
Christopher McAvoy
Brenda McRae
Eric S. Random
Katrina (Tina) Weaver Ross
Derrick Snyder

Pineville
http://ncvoterguide.org/pineville
Al Baskins
Libby Boyd Boatwright
Melissa Rogers Davis
Jim Eschert
Deborah Fowler
Les Gladden
David Macala
David Phillips