Find our new content and programs at

Friday, April 1, 2011

Mecklenburg Municipalities

What's a municipality? A North Carolina, a city, town or village. In Mecklenburg County, there are 7 municipalities: Charlotte, Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Matthews, Mint Hill and Pineville.

Each city or town has a mayor and a council. While Charlotte's officials represent political parties (Democrat or Republican), the elected leaders in the towns are non-partisan. Municipal elections are held every 2 years, with the next election this year.

In each location, a professional manager is hired to carry out policies and manage city or town government.

Part of the manager's responsibility is to develop an annual budget, which the mayor and council approve. Local governments collect funds from fees, sales and property taxes and other kinds of revenue. Budget expenses vary, and include general government (communicating with the public, carrying out laws and policies, etc.), public safety (police, fire and medic), roads and transportation, public works and utilities, parks and recreation, planning and economic development.

The budget process takes place each spring. This is a great time to learn about the government services and leaders, and make your voice heard.

Learn more about the city and town governments in Mecklenburg County
City of Charlotte presentation and website
Cornelius presentation and website
Davidson presentation and website
Huntersville presentation and website
Matthews presentation and website
Mint Hill presentation and website
Pineville presentation and website
Budget information for city, towns and county
Talking to officials 
Contact Kids Voting Mecklenburg for editable presentations and other classroom materials about government, civic action and leadership.